2017 Global Marathon Swimming Awards

The MSF Global Marathon Swimming Awards, now in their sixth year, recognize the most outstanding achievements and contributions in solo marathon swimming. The awards are nominated and voted by members of the Marathon Swimmers Forum, the world’s largest independent online community of marathon swimmers.


Finalists were selected from the community-generated nominations on the Marathon Swimmers Forum. Voting emails will be sent to eligible MSF Forum members in the first week of December.

Solo Swim of the Year

Barra Award for Most Prolific Overall Year

Two Barra Awards will be given - one to a woman, and one to a man.

Streeter Award for Service to Marathon Swimming

  • Tom Linthicum and Dave Van Mouwerik - for supporting, piloting, and compiling historical documentation of marathon swims in Lake Tahoe (nominated by Karl Kingery)
  • Andrew Malinak - for co-founding and leading the Northwest Open Water Swimming Association (2015 to present), and for piloting Sarah Thomas’s record Lake Champlain swim (nominated by Elaine Howley)
  • Greg O’Connor and Elaine Kornbau Howley - for co-directing the Boston Light Swim (2009 to present) and co-founding the Massachusetts Open Water Swimming Association (nominated by Phil White)
  • Mark Sheridan - for leading the British Long Distance Swimming Association as its president in 2017 (nominated by Sara Marley)
  • Scott Zornig - for developing and leading the Santa Barbara Channel Swimming Association, 2009-2016 (nominated by Evan Morrison)

Yudovin Award for Most Adventurous Swim