END-WET 2015 Registration is Open

The END-WET 36 mile swim race is now open for registration.

www.endracing.org

-LBJ

“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess.” - Oscar Wilde

Comments

• Leonard_JansenLeonard_Jansen Charter Member
    edited November 2014
    Just saw that END-Wet is scheduled for 20 June 2015. Registration is supposed to open on 2 January 2015.
    36 miles of more fun than anyone has a right to have.
    Link to main page for End-Wet

-LBJ
    Mandai

• So how crazy would it be to do this as my first marathon swim...or really my first open water swim period (besides a few triathlons ages ago)?

I live in Manitoba and END-WET is one of the few races that I could drive to. I live in a city on the Red River and the idea of swimming in it weirds me out, but after reading some reviews of it it sounds like the river is cleaner than I thought and like it would be a lot of fun!

I just started training a month ago (I'm a former competitive swimmer but I've been out of the water for 10 years) and as of now I'm up to 5k per week in three short pool sessions, but I'm upping it every week and can probably get up to doing 10-12k per week, hopefully more. I'd be unlikely to get more than one or two open water sessions in before late June. Would this be enough? Does END-WET have qualifications that you have to meet?
  • MandaiMandai Charter Member
    You should give it a try Deema, it's a very well organized, casual, fun and memorable event. As a former competitive swimmer that has been out of the water I'm sure you'll still finish. And still be faster than a former competitive cyclist in the water for the last ten years. It's down stream and as such not as crazy as it sounds.