How to plan a weekly training schedule?

gaedtke2gaedtke2 Milwaukee, WiMember

I am pretty new to swimming. I taught myself how to swim freestyle two years ago(I am 37) and have been hooked since. I have done two 2.4 mile ow races. Last summer I finished in 1:04 and the previous summer finished in 1:10...not super fast, but not bad. This summer I would like to step it up and do an 8mile ow race nearby.

Currently I have been doing about 20,000 yds per week. I don't want to do much more than that. From the swimsmooth website my css time is 1:34 per 100yd. For all workouts I do a 500yd warmup and 250 yd cooldown--except my straight swim day.

I have seen a lot of awesome workouts on the forum here, but I don't how often these workouts can be done. Are four days in a row of high-intensity workouts too much?
Here is my typical weekly training schedule. My goal is to keep or increase endurance, while gaining a little speed. Everyone's goal I'm sure.
Monday: ladder down from 17 lengths with 15 sec rest in between. pace of 1:40 til about 8 lengths, then down to about 1:34 and finishing with all out the last few lengths.

Tuesday: 18 sets of 200's with 30 sec rest in between. usually 3:15-3:18 throughout (1:38pace). going all out on the last set or two

Wed: maybe a 3 or 4 mile straight swim. pace of 1:43-1:45

Thursday: I will just "wing it" and not push too hard. I might do a pyramid of lengths 4-4-6-6-8-8-8-6-6-4-4-4-4-4 at pace of about 1:36 on the 100s and 1:40 on the 200s giving myself 15 sec rest in between.

Saturday: I will either do a ladder down from 11 or 12 at pace of about 1:38. Or about 13 sets of 200s at pace of about 1:38.

I know these times aren't great, but I have been checking my heart rate between interval and I am at about 140btm. A friend said I should try to train at 120 btm. Should I pay attention to this? Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Comments

• andissandiss Senior Member

I've seen somewhere a starting point can be 3 sessions a week