Any Open Water Swimmers in Orange County, CA

calypsocalypso Member
edited June 2013 in Locations & Networking
Hi! Relatively new to OW swimming. It's really a happenstance thing for me as I accidentally dove into ocean swimming when I was trying to escape the pool chlorine. Self-taught, YouTube is my Masters training program. Not a super swimmer, I can somehow hold some distance compared to the mere walking mortals of this earth. However, I am veeeery slow to say the least. My max ocean open swim is a 2K so far, swum in 70mn in a relatively quiet location-- I now swim regularly at CDM beach. I have been swimming 4 to 6 times a week for the last 12 months. I thought I was doing ok until I stumbled upon this forum. I discovered random comments of beginning marathon swimmers whose starting performance were 10K swims. Gasp! If that's the beginning, oh dear, my 2k is indeed insignificant. Anyway, I entertain the dream of becoming a 5 mile swimmer some day. So if you don't mind training with a slower, really rookie OW swimmer, msg me as I'd be happy to swimalize with local OW swim fans.

Comments

• IronMikeIronMike Northern VirginiaCharter Member
    Keep reading these forums, you'll learn a lot.

I started in 2010 with a 2K swim. A year later I did my first 10K. I trained in a 15m length pool. :(

Speed doesn't really matter in most swims, as long as there isn't a cut-off. You'll get faster with practice, especially navigation. Unless you had a gps on you for your 2K 70min swim, you cant' be sure you did only 2K. With the vagaries of current and waves, you could have swum 2.2 or more kilometers. So if you look at it that way, your 70min is looking better, right?!