Newbie Race Director looking for advice, tips, etc from other RDs and swimmers

SalishSeaSalishSea Nanaimo, BC CanadaMember
edited September 2013 in Resources
I am new to putting on a swimming events and my first one will be a 2km, 5km and 10km ocean swims in Nanaimo BC, Canada. The 2km will be and out and back in the harbour, the 5km around a small island and the 10km around 2 islands. All distances will be with insight of the shore at all times and the 10km should have a a big push from the current at the end.

I have organized running events so I a general idea of what is needed, volunteers, sponsors, website etc.

What I am looking for is what makes a truly great open water event. Is it the route, weather, amount of support, # of boats, # of kayaks, pre/post race events, post race food, prizes etc.

What in your opinions makes a race great.

As well if there are any RDs out there with any tips or tricks I am all ears.

Thanks in advance.
Tagged:

Comments

• SalishSeaSalishSea Nanaimo, BC CanadaMember
    Are you holding the races all starting at the same time (a) or start the next one after the other has finished (b)?
    I am planning on a mass start for the 5km and 10km and starting the 2km about 15 min after.
    The biggest problems will be getting enough boats and/or kayaks.
    The biggest costs are the boats and/or kayaks.
    Yes I am beginning to see that. I am working with a few local clubs (kayak and yacht clubs) to see what they can do for me.
    Will you use cut-off times and how much?
    Yes I am for the 10 km only and that would be around the 4km mark. I like the European Masters time cut off method. But I may give the people the option to switch to the 5km race at that point.
    I saw log floats on the satellite photo. I hope they will stay away on race day.
    Yes they come and go. I need to talk with the city and the harbour master about them to see if I can ensure they are not there on race day.