Best Swimming Town

IronMikeIronMike Northern VirginiaCharter Member

I searched for a thread on this topic already and came up empty.

Say you were in the market for moving. You can move (just about) anywhere. You have one condition: must be able to OW swim in your new city/town/metropolis/village. Where do you suggest the person move?

We're all just carbon, water, starlight, oxygen and dreams

Comments

• IronMikeIronMike Northern VirginiaCharter Member

I'll start:

We love all the things you get in a big town: shops, restaurants, public transportation. But we also love open water swimming. I prefer lakes and rivers to oceans, but I'll swim in the ocean too. I'm not that good at cold water (sub 55*F), but perhaps I just need to get used to it first. We also like to have seasons, even if the particular season is short. (Winter is a must, and we're not afraid of seriously cold winters or heavy snow winters.)

Where do you advise we look?

• slknightslknight Member
    edited May 2017

IronMike said:
    I'm not that good at cold water (sub 55*F),
    (Winter is a must, and we're not afraid of seriously cold winters or heavy snow winters.)

Not sure these two are compatible. < shrugs >

flystorms
  • malinakamalinaka Seattle, WACharter Member

If by winter you mean endless grey and just a bit above freezing, then let me tell you about a place that has all the salt-water coastline you could want complete with whales and big ships, plus a few tasty lakes in the 10 to 18 mile range that get kindly warm in the summer, all nestled between three moderately-sized urban centers. And if you need snow, that's just a half hour drive east. Need I say more? I advise you look Northwest.

curlyIronMikeForeverSwimflystormsssthomasKarl_Kingerywendyv34rlm

I don't wear a wetsuit; it gives the ocean a sporting chance.

• timsroottimsroot Spring, TXCharter Member

Niek said:
    The Netherlands what else? :-t