Swim around "The World"

WillersWillers Member
edited August 2012 in Event Announcements
Hi All. On the 21 November 2012 I am going to take on the biggest challenge of my life. I will attempt to be the first person to swim around The World. Not the globe, but a man-made development in Dubai! The reason for setting myself such a gruelling challenge is to raise awareness and also money for research into Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy. I started training in January this year so hopefully by November I will be ready!

I joined this website about a month and a half ago and have been reading lots of the discussions to learn as much as possible - of particular interest has been all the posts about waterproof sunblock - swimming at midday in Dubai is a real concern! Anyway all the approvals for my swim recently came in and I went public last week and I wanted to let you all know about it - you can learn more about the swim at my website http://www.swimaroundtheworld.me

I hope you like the concept and if anyone has any advice about this type of warm water swim I would love to hear it!

Kate
Tagged:

Comments

• loneswimmerloneswimmer IrelandCharter Member
    Kate, great idea for a swim. Put it on my Twitter. I look forward to seeing the planned route. Plenty of warm water swimmers around here who can help better I think.

loneswimmer.com

• evmoevmo SydneyAdmin
    Awesome, Kate! I hope you'll keep us in the loop about this.
    Willers wrote:
    I hope you like the concept and if anyone has any advice about this type of warm water swim I would love to hear it!
    Drink lots (and lots and lots) of fluids, and more electrolytes than you'd otherwise consume in a saltwater swim.
  • WaterGirlWaterGirl Scottsdale, AZCharter Member
    The hottest swim I've done was 6 hours in 85-degree fresh water. Air temperature was 85 degrees at the start, 110 degrees at the end.