Need an ocean swim buddy

molly1205molly1205 Lincoln, NebraskaSenior Member
edited January 2013 in Locations & Networking
Hi, all- I'm very new to marathon swimming and have only swum a 10K distance in a pool. The beaches and ocean swimming in Nebraska are not the best. I'd like to get in a couple of days of ocean swimming to test the waters, so to speak. Is there anyone in south Florida or coastal California who would be willing to show me the ropes for a weekend?

Molly Nance, Lincoln, Nebraska

Comments

• SharkoSharko Tomales BayGuest
    I notice Ann Cleveland from the La Jolla area is putting on a clinic and she might want to just show you the warm Southern California waters (too warm for Sharko) at probably 54f...

http://annecleveland.com/open-water-swim-coaching/open-water-clinics/

or you could try the South End Rowing Club in San Francisco and we can introduce you to real coastal swimming...water at about 49f and starting to rise....just let me know your preference....http://www.south-end.org/

"I never met a shark I didn't like"

• evmoevmo SydneyAdmin
    edited January 2013
    Hi Molly -- I lived in the Midwest for several years and actually found quite a lot of good options for OWS (especially if near the Great Lakes, which I know you're not exactly...).

Perhaps it would be helpful to know what you're seeking out of your ocean swimming experience? Are you training for anything in particular? Looking for rough-water experience? Just want to visit Florida or Cali?
  • WalterWalter Southern CaliforniaMember
    @molly1205: If you decide on San Diego, you will have no trouble lining up a weekend's worth of swim buddies, any weekend of the year. You can post on La Jolla Cove Swim Club's fb page or just give me a shout before you arrive and I'll be happy to help (including by joining you for a swim or two, of course).

I'm not very popular around here; but I've heard that I'm huge in Edinburgh!

• molly1205molly1205 Lincoln, NebraskaSenior Member