2019 Global Marathon Swimming Awards

The MSF Global Marathon Swimming Awards, now in their eighth year, annually recognize the most outstanding achievements and contributions in solo marathon swimming.

Solo Swim of the Year

Recognizing the most outstanding solo marathon swim of 2019.

Sarah Thomas (United States)

Four-way English Channel (England-France-England-France-England) – first. 132 km in 54 hours, 10 minutes on September 15-17, 2019. Ratified by Channel Swimming & Piloting Federation.

World record, longest open-water swim of a multi-way route. 38 years after first three-way (Jon Erikson), 58 years after first two-way (Antonio Abertondo), and 144 years after first one-way (Matthew Webb).

View Solo Swim of the Year finalists.

Barra List

Recognizing the most outstanding overall year of marathon swimming.

View Barra List details.

Service to Marathon Swimming

Phil White - see 2019-2020 Service to Marathon Swimming Award.